• Welcome to RAIL - Back On Track Forum.

Queensland TravelTrain - Time to think as a Nation...

Started by SteelPan, March 03, 2009, 12:21:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SteelPan

Time for the Aussie Amtrak (Comtrack). Given it's a state election, this may cause a stir, strangley I would think the states might be happy to do it.  Upteen "Boards and Management teams become ONE board/management team - Upteen marketing, maintenance, promotion, IT, and distributions systems - all become ONE system. 

______________________________________________________________________________________

The poor state of long-distance passenger train rolling stock and lack of promotion and coordination in this nation is a national disgrace. For example, I was a primary school student when the XPT's entered service and this month I turn 40 (sigh).

People once travelled on real long-distance trains, ate real food, in real dining cars, not plastic pre-cooked rubbish! Names like the Southern Aurora and Spirit of Progress, SHOULD have been as sacred to Australians as the Opera House or Harbour Bridge, but the bean counters tossed them in to history - after generations of service!

People always say "it's the cost" when they speak of rail, that translates into, rail is any easy target for mindless cutbacks. How much 24 Super Hornets, how much a next generation of submarines - 10's of billions. Rail asks for much, much less.