• Welcome to RAIL - Back On Track Forum.

Visiting from the Sticks

Started by Mick_L, February 02, 2009, 20:46:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mick_L

Hi All,

Later this week I will be travelling down to Brisbane from the Far North for a few days and will be using the local public transport a fair bit. Generally, I will visit around three to four times per year. So the obvious question is: Is it worthwhile getting a Go Card? One of the obvious benefits will be having the suitably topped up card for future Air Train trips after landing at the airport.

As an FNQ resident, I had previously largely dismissed the Go Card as irrelevant, but after a recent holiday to Hong Kong and using the truly fantastic fully integrated "Octopus" Card system, I am thoroughly hooked  with the  concept. Be happy to do a post about it if anyone is interested.

So, for a three or four times a year visitor, is it worthwhile having a card for maybe half a dozen or slightly more PT trips per visit?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts

SockGap

Hi Mick

I would love to say "Yes" but I think the answer is going to be "No".

The Go Card is a brilliant system but is let down by the fare structure.   If you're travelling for 2 trips per day (into work in the morning and home in the evening) then the Go Card is fantastic.  But as soon as you make a 3rd or 4th trip during the day then you are better off purchasing a paper Daily ticket.  Unless you can do it within the windows for "Continuation of Travel".

The one thing the Go Card is good for though is saving you having to find the correct fare.  If you're only going to use it for 2 journeys per day then at least you don't have to worry about carrying change.