• Welcome to RAIL - Back On Track Forum.
 

Number of reported bus service disruptions from 23 Jan - 16 Apr 2023

Started by ozbob, January 28, 2023, 23:10:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ozbob

Reported bus service disruptions by Translink
Record is kept here > https://railbot.info/forum/index.php?topic=229.0 

For the period 8 September 2022 through to 20 January 2023 average reported bus disruptions per day was 80.

For period 23 January 2023 through to  16 April 2023 the average was reported bus disruptions per day was 110, a 38% increase.

School resumed 23 January 2023

=================

Translink Reported Bus Service Disruptions
Date Day Number Date   Day    Number Date   Day    Number
23 Jan 2023 Mon 66 20 Feb 2023 Mon 127 20 Mar 2023 Mon 147
24 Jan 2023 Tue 62 21 Feb 2023 Tue 110 21 Mar 2023 Tue 85
25 Jan 2023 Wed 113 22 Feb 2023 Wed 158 22 Mar 2023 Wed 111
26 Jan 2023 Thu PH 29 23 Feb 2023 Thu 169 23 Mar 2023 Thu 155
27 Jan 2023 Fri 137* 24 Feb 2023 Fri 138 24 Mar 2023 Fri 196
28 Jan 2023 Sat 31 25 Feb 2023 Sat 44 25 Mar 2023 Sat 53
29 Jan 2023 Sun 33 26 Feb 2023 Sun 15 26 Mar 2023 Sun 30
30 Jan 2023 Mon 93 27 Feb 2023 Mon 92 27 Mar 2023 Mon 148
31 Jan 2023 Tue 352* 28 Feb 2023 Tue 103 28 Mar 2023 Tue 134
1 Feb 2023 Wed 89 1 Mar 2023 Wed 139 29 Mar 2023 Wed 150
2 Feb 2023 Thu 140 2 Mar 2023 Thu 143 30 Mar 2023 Thu 133
3 Feb 2023 Fri 147 3 Mar 2023 Fri 211 31 Mar 2023 Fri 264
4 Feb 2023 Sat 48 4 Mar 2023 Sat 28 1 Apr 2023 Sat 84
5 Feb 2023 Sun 25 5 Mar 2023 Sun 11 2 Apr 2023 Sun 34
6 Feb 2023 Mon 108 6 Mar 2023 Mon 99 3 Apr 2023 Mon 87
7 Feb 2023 Tue 158* 7 Mar 2023 Tue 109 4 Apr 2023 Tue 116
8 Feb 2023 Wed 171 8 Mar 2023 Wed 137 5 Apr 2023 Wed 116
9 Feb 2023 Thu 95 9 Mar 2023 Thu 133 6 Apr 2023 Thu 198
10 Feb 2023 Fri 131 10 Mar 2023 Fri 241 7 Apr 2023 Fri 20
11 Feb 2023 Sat 43 11 Mar 2023 Sat 36 8 Apr 2023 Sat 60
12 Feb 2023 Sun 27 12 Mar 2023 Sun 25 9 Apr 2023 Sun 19
13 Feb 2023 Mon 116 13 Mar 2023 Mon 93 10 Apr 2023 Mon 28
14 Feb 2023 Tue 131 14 Mar 2023 Tue 136 11 Apr 2023 Tue 60
15 Feb 2023 Wed 208 15 Mar 2023 Wed 138 12 Apr 2023 Wed 137
16 Feb 2023 Thu 233 16 Mar 2023 Thu 131 13 Apr 2023 Thu 152
17 Feb 2023 Fri 351 17 Mar 2023 Fri 205 14 Apr 2023 Fri 170
18 Feb 2023 Sat 52 18 Mar 2023 Sat 43 15 Apr 2023 Sat 26
19 Feb 2023 Sun 10 19 Mar 2023 Sun 21 16 Apr 2023 Sun 22


*27th January 2023 there was a bus with mechanical failure that blocked CC outbound for a while, and both directions of busway closed while bus was removed. This has bumped it up a bit.

*31st January 2023 Industrial action with Gold Coast bus services. Massive service cancellations.

*7th February 2023 Broken down bus on SEB. Lots of delays. These are generally not reported individually.

*7-10 April 2023 Easter holiday period.

*1-16 April school holidays







Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob

Remember this is just the ' reported ' service disruptions.  We know a number are not reported.
You can cross the reference the RSS feed against the twitter feed, they are obviously not up to task at the out-sourced IT mob.

Still, gives a relative idea of the degree of the 'state of shambles' of the bus network is in!

And it varies from ratsh%t to super ratsh%t!  :woz:

Put that in your pipe and smoke it  :lu:  :lu:  :lu:  :lu:  :lu:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3H4U6P9KUI

The Saints were a Brisbane rock band which formed in 1973.
The band was founded by Chris Bailey (RIP).  On the money the Saints!!
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob



Interesting to note the increasing trend of reported service disruptions as the week proceeds  :dntk

It is not getting any better.

For the period 8 September 2022 through to 20 January 2023 average reported bus disruptions per day was 80.

For this period the average was reported bus disruptions per day was 110, a 38% increase.

Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob

Sent to all outlets:

Update on the number of reported bus service disruptions by Translink Queensland

17th April 2023

Further to our interim report on the 15th March 2023 (1) we can now report the overall reported bus service disruptions for the period 23 January 2023 through to the 16 April 2023. This covers the first school term and holiday period.

For the period 8 September 2022 through to 20 January 2023 average reported bus disruptions per day was 80.

For period 23 January 2023 through to 16 April 2023 the average reported bus disruptions per day was 110, a 38% increase.
Disruptions on the bus networks are getting worse, not better (see https://railbotforum.org/mbs/index.php?topic=15050.0 ).

Please note this is just the ' reported ' service disruptions.  We know a number are not reported, but it gives a good idea of how the bus networks are performing.  Most of the reported service disruptions are service cancellations due to a lack of bus drivers.

Interesting to note the increasing trend of reported service disruptions as the week proceeds.  There could be a number of reasons for this, for example driver fatigue, illness, drivers tired of doing extra shifts.  Be interesting to know the ' official explanation ' for this trend. The jurisdictions with the biggest problems are the Gold Coast and Brisbane.

It might be time for the Minister for Transport and Translink to detail what is being done to address the driver shortfall.  In the case of Brisbane, it might be time to do some network reorganisation and rather than continue to run buses in parallel to rail, and start feeding the rail network properly.

Daily Translink Reported Bus Service Disruptions
https://backontrack.org/docs/bus/service_disruptions/busreported26.jpg



Average reported daily bus service disruptions
https://backontrack.org/docs/bus/service_disruptions/dailyaverages1.jpg




Robert Dow
Administration
admin@backontrack.org
RAIL Back On Track https://backontrack.org

Reference:

1. Bus networks in serious disarray
https://railbotforum.org/yourls/4v
15th March 2023
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob

Facebook ...

Update on the number of reported bus service disruptions by Translink Queensland 17th April 2023 Further to our...

Posted by RAIL - Back On Track on Sunday, 16 April 2023
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky


ozbob

Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob

Sent to all outlets:

Re: Update on the number of reported bus service disruptions by Translink Queensland

20th April 2023

Greetings,

Been reported in the Gold Coast Bulletin that the State Government is investigating changes to working visas to plug holes in bus driver shortages.

Gold Coast bus driver shortages: State government's surprise solution
https://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/news/transport/gold-coast-bus-driver-shortages-state-governments-surprise-solution/news-story/73b91bdadc2a74ee576beff66fa80329

Despite the headline, this is not a surprise solution, in fact it was discussed a number of times in 2022, but it seems it has taken a while for the State Government to get on the bus!

I had a chance meeting with a retired Brisbane bus and tram driver the other day.  He made the comment that getting retired drivers to resume driving ( another touted solution to the driver shortage ) needs financial support for the necessary medical and licence fees.  I thought that was good point and needs investigating as well.  Retired bus drivers are reluctant to return to driving if it is going to cost them upfront expenditure.

We continue to monitor the number of reported bus service disruptions at  https://railbotforum.org/mbs/index.php?topic=15142.0
Yesterday, Wednesday 19th April 2023, 131 reported service disruptions.  Not going too well is it?

Best wishes,
Robert

Robert Dow
Administration
admin@backontrack.org
RAIL Back On Track https://backontrack.org

Quote from: ozbob on April 17, 2023, 03:59:23 AMSent to all outlets:

Update on the number of reported bus service disruptions by Translink Queensland

17th April 2023

Further to our interim report on the 15th March 2023 (1) we can now report the overall reported bus service disruptions for the period 23 January 2023 through to the 16 April 2023. This covers the first school term and holiday period.

For the period 8 September 2022 through to 20 January 2023 average reported bus disruptions per day was 80.

For period 23 January 2023 through to 16 April 2023 the average reported bus disruptions per day was 110, a 38% increase.
Disruptions on the bus networks are getting worse, not better (see https://railbotforum.org/mbs/index.php?topic=15050.0 ).

Please note this is just the ' reported ' service disruptions.  We know a number are not reported, but it gives a good idea of how the bus networks are performing.  Most of the reported service disruptions are service cancellations due to a lack of bus drivers.

Interesting to note the increasing trend of reported service disruptions as the week proceeds.  There could be a number of reasons for this, for example driver fatigue, illness, drivers tired of doing extra shifts.  Be interesting to know the ' official explanation ' for this trend. The jurisdictions with the biggest problems are the Gold Coast and Brisbane.

It might be time for the Minister for Transport and Translink to detail what is being done to address the driver shortfall.  In the case of Brisbane, it might be time to do some network reorganisation and rather than continue to run buses in parallel to rail, and start feeding the rail network properly.

Daily Translink Reported Bus Service Disruptions
https://backontrack.org/docs/bus/service_disruptions/busreported26.jpg



Average reported daily bus service disruptions
https://backontrack.org/docs/bus/service_disruptions/dailyaverages1.jpg




Robert Dow
Administration
admin@backontrack.org
RAIL Back On Track https://backontrack.org

Reference:

1. Bus networks in serious disarray
https://railbotforum.org/yourls/4v
15th March 2023
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky


ozbob

Interviews on Mornings ABC Gold Coast Radio 20th April 2023. Host Sarah Cummings.

Minister Mark Bailey, Robert Dow RBoT

Minister discusses the bus driver shortages and visa changes, and a bit on the M1

Robert Dow discusses solutions to the bus driver shortages.

Here --> https://backontrack.org/docs/abcgc/abcgc_mb_rd_20apr23.mp3 6.0MB
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

ozbob

^ It has taken near on a year, at least the Minister for Transport is talking publicly about the bus driver shortages.  The Government needs to give more support to the bus operators in recruiting drivers, a point I make in the interview on the 20th April 2023 on Gold Coast ABC Radio ^.
Half baked projects, have long term consequences ...
Ozbob's Gallery Forum   Facebook  X  Threads  Mastodon  BlueSky

­čí▒ ­čí│